Tax Measures: Notice of Ways and Means Motion to Amend the Excise Tax Act

That it is expedient to amend the Excise Tax Act as follows:
Opioid Overdose Treatment Drug — Naloxone
1  (1)  Paragraph 2(e) of Part I of Schedule VI to the Excise Tax Act is amended by striking out "and" at the end of subparagraph (ix), by adding "and" at the end of subparagraph (x) and by adding the following after subparagraph (x):
(xi)    Naloxone and its salts,
(2)  Subsection (1) is deemed to have come into force on March 22, 2016 except that it does not apply
(a)  to any supply made after March 21, 2016 but on or before Budget Day if, on or before Budget Day, the supplier charged, collected or remitted any amount as or on account of tax under Part IX of the Act in respect of the supply;
(b)  for the purposes of section 6 of Schedule VII to the Act, to goods imported after March 21, 2016 but on or before Budget Day if, on or before Budget Day, any amount was paid as or on account of tax under Part IX of the Act in respect of the importation; or
(c)  for the purposes of section 15 of Part I of Schedule X to the Act, to property brought into a participating province after March 21, 2016 but on or before Budget Day if, on or before Budget Day, any amount was paid as or on account of tax under Part IX of the Act in respect of the bringing into the province.
Taxi and Ride-Sharing Services
2  (1)  The definition taxi business in subsection 123(1) of the Act is replaced by the following:
taxi business means
(a)  a business carried on in Canada of transporting passengers by taxi or other similar vehicle for fares that are regulated under the laws of Canada or a province; or
(b)  a business carried on in Canada by a person of transporting passengers for fares by motor vehicle — being a vehicle that would be an automobile, as defined in subsection 248(1) of the Income Tax Act, if that definition were read without reference to "a motor vehicle acquired primarily for use as a taxi," in paragraph (c) and without reference to paragraph (e) — within a particular municipality and its environs if the transportation is arranged or coordinated through an electronic platform or system, other than
(i)  the part of the business that does not involve the making of taxable supplies by the person,
(ii)  the part of the business that is the operation of a sightseeing service or the school transportation of elementary or secondary students, or
(iii)  a prescribed business or a prescribed activity of a business; (entreprise de taxis)
(2)  Subsection (1) comes into force, or is deemed to have come into force, on July 1, 2017.
GST/HST Rebate to Non-Residents for Tour Package Accommodations
3  (1)  The portion of the definition short-term accommodation in subsection 123(1) of the Act before paragraph (a) is replaced by the following:
short-term accommodation means a residential complex or a residential unit that is supplied to a recipient by way of lease, licence or similar arrangement for the purpose of its occupancy by an individual as a place of residence or lodging, if the period throughout which the individual is given continuous occupancy of the complex or unit is less than one month and, for the purposes of section 252.4,
(2)  Subsection (1) comes into force on January 1, 2018 but does not apply in respect of any rebate under section 252.1 of the Act in respect of a supply made before that day.
4  (1)  The portion of subsection 234(2) of the Act before paragraph (a) is replaced by the following:
Deduction for rebate in respect of supplies to non-residents
(2)  If, in the circumstances described in subsection 252(3) or 252.4(2) or (4), a registrant pays to, or credits in favour of, a person an amount on account of a rebate referred to therein, the registrant may deduct the amount in determining the net tax of the registrant for
  
(2)  The portion of subsection 234(2.1) of the Act before paragraph (a) is replaced by the following:
Late filing of information and adjustment for failure to file
(2.1)  If a registrant is required to file prescribed information in accordance with subsection 252.4(5) in respect of an amount claimed as a deduction under subsection (2) in respect of an amount paid or credited on account of a rebate,
  
(3)  The portion of paragraph 234(2.1)(a) of the English version of the Act after subparagraph (ii) is replaced by the following:
the registrant shall, in determining the net tax for the reporting period of the registrant that includes the filing day, add an amount equal to interest, at the prescribed rate, on the amount claimed as a deduction under subsection (2) computed for the period beginning on the day on or before which the registrant was required to file the prescribed information under subsection 252.4(5) and ending on the filing day; and
(4)  Paragraph 234(2.1)(b) of the English version of the Act is replaced by the following:
(b)  in the case where the registrant fails to file the information before the particular day, the registrant shall, in determining the net tax for the reporting period of the registrant that includes the particular day, add an amount equal to the total of the amount claimed as a deduction under subsection (2) and interest, at the prescribed rate, on that amount computed for the period beginning on the day on or before which the registrant was required to file the information under subsection 252.4(5) and ending on the day on or before which the registrant is required under section 238 to file a return for the reporting period of the registrant that includes the particular day.
(5)  Subsections (1) to (4) come into force on January 1, 2018 but do not apply in respect of any amount paid or credited on account of a rebate under section 252.1 of the Act in respect of a supply made before that day.
5  (1)  Section 252.1 of the Act is repealed.
(2)  Subsection (1) is deemed to have come into force on the day after Budget Day but does not apply in respect of any supply made on or before Budget Day or in respect of any supply made after Budget Day but before 2018 if all of the consideration for that supply is paid before 2018.
6  (1)  The portion of section 252.2 of the Act before paragraph (a) is replaced by the following:
Restriction
252.2  A rebate shall not be paid under section 252 to a person unless
(2)  Paragraph 252.2(a) of the Act is amended by adding "and" at the end of subparagraph (i), by striking out "and" at the end of subparagraph (ii) and by repealing subparagraph (iii).
(3)  Section 252.2 of the Act is amended by adding "and" at the end of paragraph (d.1), by striking out "and" at the end of paragraph (e) and by repealing paragraph (g).
(4)  Subsections (1) to (3) come into force on January 1, 2018 but do not apply in respect of any rebate under section 252.1 of the Act in respect of a supply made before that day.
7  (1)  Section 252.4 of the Act is amended by adding the following before subsection (1):
Definitions
252.4  (0.1)  The following definitions apply in this section.
camping accommodation means a campsite at a recreational trailer park or campground (other than a campsite included in the definition short-term accommodation in subsection 123(1) or included in that part of a tour package that is not the taxable portion, as defined in subsection 163(3), of the tour package) that is supplied by way of lease, licence or similar arrangement for the purpose of its occupancy by an individual as a place of residence or lodging, if the period throughout which the individual is given continuous occupancy of the campsite is less than one month. It includes water, electricity and waste disposal services, or the right to their use, if they are accessed by means of an outlet or hook-up at the campsite and are supplied with the campsite. (emplacement de camping)
tour package has the same meaning as in subsection 163(3), but does not include a tour package that includes a convention facility or related convention supplies. (voyage organisé)
(2)  Subsection (1) is deemed to have come into force on the day after Budget Day.
8  (1)  The portion of section 252.5 of the Act before paragraph (a) is replaced by the following:
Liability for amount paid or credited
252.5  If, under section 252 or 252.4, a registrant at a particular time pays to, or credits in favour of, a person an amount on account of a rebate and
(2)  Subsection (1) comes into force on January 1, 2018 but does not apply in respect of any rebate under section 252.1 of the Act in respect of a supply made before that day.

 

Date modified:

Mesures fiscales : Avis de motion de voies et moyens visant à modifier la Loi sur la taxe d'accise

Il y a lieu de modifier la Loi sur la taxe d'accise, comme suit :
Traitement pour surdose d'opioïdes — naloxone
1  (1)  L'alinéa 2e) de la partie I de l'annexe VI de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise est modifié par adjonction, après le sous-alinéa (x), de ce qui suit :
(xi)    naloxone et ses sels;
(2)  Le paragraphe (1) est réputé être entré en vigueur le 22 mars 2016. Toutefois, il ne s'applique pas :
a)  aux fournitures effectuées après le 21 mars 2016 mais au plus tard à la date du budget si, au plus tard à la date du budget, le fournisseur a exigé, perçu ou versé un montant au titre de la taxe prévue à la partie IX de la même loi relativement à la fourniture;
b)  pour l'application de l'article 6 de l'annexe VII de la même loi, aux produits importés après le 21 mars 2016 mais au plus tard à la date du budget si, au plus tard à la date du budget, un montant a été payé au titre de la taxe prévue à la partie IX de la même loi relativement à l'importation;
c)  pour l'application de l'article 15 de la partie I de l'annexe X de la même loi, aux biens transférés dans une province participante après le 21 mars 2016 mais au plus tard à la date du budget si, au plus tard à la date du budget, un montant a été payé au titre de la taxe prévue à la partie IX de la même loi relativement au transfert.
Services de taxis et de covoiturage
2  (1)  La définition de entreprise de taxis, au paragraphe 123(1) de la même loi, est remplacée par ce qui suit :
entreprise de taxis Les entreprises suivantes :
a)  une entreprise exploitée au Canada qui consiste à transporter des passagers par taxi ou autre véhicule semblable à des prix réglementés par les lois fédérales ou provinciales;
b)  une entreprise exploitée au Canada par une personne qui consiste à transporter des passagers, moyennant un prix pour le transport, par véhicule à moteur — s'entendant d'un véhicule qui serait une automobile, au sens du paragraphe 248(1) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, si cette définition s'appliquait en l'absence du passage « les véhicules à moteur acquis principalement pour servir de taxi, » à son alinéa b) et en l'absence de son alinéa d) — dans une municipalité et ses environs si le transport est organisé ou coordonné par l'entremise d'une plate-forme ou d'un système électronique, sauf, selon le cas :
(i)  la partie de l'entreprise qui ne consiste pas à effectuer des fournitures taxables par la personne,
(ii)  la partie de l'entreprise qui consiste à exploiter des services de visites touristiques ou à assurer le transport scolaire d'élèves du primaire ou secondaire,
(iii)  une entreprise visée par règlement ou une activité d'une entreprise si l'activité est visée par règlement. (taxi business)
(2)  Le paragraphe (1) entre en vigueur, ou est réputé être entré en vigueur, le 1er juillet 2017.
Remboursement de TPS/TVH aux non-résidents pour hébergement inclus dans un voyage organisé
3  (1)  Le passage de la définition de logement provisoire précédant l'alinéa a), au paragraphe 123(1) de la même loi, est remplacé par ce qui suit :
logement provisoire Immeuble d'habitation ou habitation fourni à un acquéreur par bail, licence ou accord semblable, en vue de son occupation continue à titre résidentiel ou d'hébergement par le même particulier pour une durée de moins d'un mois. Pour l'application de l'article 252.4 :
(2)  Le paragraphe (1) entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 2018. Toutefois, il ne s'applique pas à l'égard d'un remboursement prévu à l'article 252.1 de la même loi relatif à une fourniture effectuée avant cette date.
4  (1)  Le passage du paragraphe 234(2) de la même loi précédant l'alinéa a) est remplacé par ce qui suit :
Déduction pour remboursement — fournitures à des non-résidents
(2)  L'inscrit qui, dans les circonstances visées aux paragraphes 252(3) ou 252.4(2) ou (4), verse à une personne, ou porte à son crédit, un montant au titre d'un remboursement visé à ces paragraphes peut déduire ce montant dans le calcul de sa taxe nette pour l'une des périodes suivantes :
  
(2)  Le passage du paragraphe 234(2.1) de la même loi précédant l'alinéa a) est remplacé par ce qui suit :
Production tardive de renseignements et rajustement pour défaut de produire
(2.1)  Dans le cas où un inscrit est tenu de produire des renseignements conformément au paragraphe 252.4(5) relativement à un montant demandé au titre de la déduction prévue au paragraphe (2) en raison d'un montant versé ou crédité au titre d'un remboursement, les règles suivantes s'appliquent :
  
(3)  Le passage de l'alinéa 234(2.1)a) de la version anglaise de la même loi suivant le sous-alinéa (ii) est remplacé par ce qui suit :
the registrant shall, in determining the net tax for the reporting period of the registrant that includes the filing day, add an amount equal to interest, at the prescribed rate, on the amount claimed as a deduction under subsection (2) computed for the period beginning on the day on or before which the registrant was required to file the prescribed information under subsection 252.4(5) and ending on the filing day; and
(4)  L'alinéa 234(2.1)b) de la version anglaise de la même loi est remplacé par ce qui suit :
(b)  in the case where the registrant fails to file the information before the particular day, the registrant shall, in determining the net tax for the reporting period of the registrant that includes the particular day, add an amount equal to the total of the amount claimed as a deduction under subsection (2) and interest, at the prescribed rate, on that amount computed for the period beginning on the day on or before which the registrant was required to file the information under subsection 252.4(5) and ending on the day on or before which the registrant is required under section 238 to file a return for the reporting period of the registrant that includes the particular day.
(5)  Les paragraphes (1) à (4) entrent en vigueur le 1er janvier 2018. Toutefois, ils ne s'appliquent pas relativement à un montant payé ou crédité au titre d'un remboursement prévu à l'article 252.1 de la même loi relatif à une fourniture effectuée avant cette date.
5  (1)  L'article 252.1 de la même loi est abrogé.
(2)  Le paragraphe (1) est réputé être entré en vigueur le lendemain de la date du budget. Toutefois, il ne s'applique pas relativement à une fourniture effectuée au plus tard à la date du budget ou relativement à une fourniture effectuée après la date du budget mais avant le 1er janvier 2018 si la totalité de la contrepartie de cette fourniture est payée avant 2018.
6  (1)  Le passage de l'article 252.2 de la même loi précédant l'alinéa a) est remplacé par ce qui suit :
Restriction
252.2  Le remboursement prévu à l'article 252 n'est effectué au profit d'une personne que si les conditions suivantes sont réunies :
(2)  Le sous-alinéa 252.2a)(iii) de la même loi est abrogé.
(3)  L'alinéa 252.2g) de la même loi est abrogé.
(4)  Les paragraphes (1) à (3) entrent en vigueur le 1er janvier 2018. Toutefois, ils ne s'appliquent pas à l'égard d'un remboursement prévu à l'article 252.1 de la même loi relatif à une fourniture effectuée avant cette date.
7  (1)  L'article 252.4 de la même loi est modifié par adjonction, avant le paragraphe (1), de ce qui suit :
Définitions
252.4  (0.1)  Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent article.
emplacement de camping Emplacement dans un parc à roulottes récréatif ou terrain de camping (sauf un emplacement compris dans la définition de logement provisoire au paragraphe 123(1) ou compris dans la partie d'un voyage organisé qui n'est pas la partie taxable du voyage, au sens du paragraphe 163(3)) qui est fourni par bail, licence ou accord semblable en vue de son occupation continue à titre résidentiel ou d'hébergement par le même particulier pour une durée de moins d'un mois. Y sont assimilés les services d'alimentation en eau et en électricité et d'élimination des déchets, ou le droit d'utiliser ces services, si l'accès à ceux-ci se fait au moyen d'un raccordement ou d'une sortie situé sur l'emplacement et s'ils sont fournis avec celui-ci. (camping accommodation)
voyage organisé S'entend au sens du paragraphe 163(3). N'est pas un voyage organisé celui dans le cadre duquel sont fournis un centre de congrès ou des fournitures liées à un congrès. (tour package)
(2)  Le paragraphe (1) est réputé être entré en vigueur le lendemain de la date du budget.
8  (1)  Le passage de l'article 252.5 de la même loi précédant l'alinéa a) est remplacé par ce qui suit :
Obligation solidaire
252.5  Lorsque, en vertu des articles 252 ou 252.4, un inscrit verse à un moment donné à une personne, ou porte à son crédit, un montant au titre du remboursement et que, selon le cas :
(2)  Le paragraphe (1) entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 2018. Toutefois, il ne s'applique pas à l'égard d'un remboursement prévu à l'article 252.1 de la même loi relatif à une fourniture effectuée avant cette date.

 

Date de modification :