Language selection

Search

Introduction

Table of Contents

Since 2015, the Government has been focused on Canadians, and on the things people need to build a better future for themselves and their families. In that time, working together, we've made a lot of progress.

The Government introduced the Canada Child Benefit, which gives more money to the families who need it most, and has helped to lift nearly 300,000 kids out of poverty.

To give a tax break to more than nine million hard-working Canadians, the Government lowered income taxes for the middle class and raised them on the wealthiest 1 per cent.

To help low-income seniors make ends meet, the Government increased the Guaranteed Income Supplement and strengthened the Canada Pension Plan to give everyone a more secure retirement.

The Government cut taxes for small businesses to help entrepreneurs grow their businesses and create more good, well-paying jobs.

And the Government is building more affordable housing in communities across the country, with Canada's first-ever National Housing Strategy, while also helping to make it more affordable for people to buy their first home.

Thanks to these efforts, and the hard work of Canadians, Canada's economy is strong and growing.

Over the last four years, Canadians have created more than a million new jobs, and stronger wage growth is helping more people get ahead. At the same time, too many people are still worried about making ends meet, and about what the future holds for themselves and their families. This is especially true for people whose livelihoods are at risk during times of economic downturn, as was recently seen in western Canada. There is much more work to be done to build an economy that truly works for everyone.

Canadians made it clear that they want a government that not only listens to these concerns, but takes real and meaningful action to address those concerns, in a responsible and balanced way—a government that is ready to respond to whatever challenges the future may bring.

A Responsible Fiscal Plan

A strong economy starts with a strong middle class—and the best way to help the middle class grow and prosper is by investing in people and in our communities. The Government has a responsible fiscal plan that will continue to do just that. It's a plan that is built on the Government's four key commitments:

Continuing to invest in people and in the things that give people a better quality of life.

The last four years have shown what can happen when the Government puts people first and invests in the things that make their lives easier: more money for families to help grow the economy, more good jobs, more liveable communities, and an estimated 900,000 fewer people living in poverty. The Government will continue to work with Indigenous Peoples to help deliver a better quality of life for their families and communities, and will build on the progress achieved for all people in Canada, moving forward with investments that will make a real difference.

Continuing to reduce the federal debt relative to the size of our economy.  

Canada's net debt-to-GDP (gross domestic product) ratio is low and sustainable. That puts Canada in an enviable position, especially compared to other Group of Seven (G7) countries. Our relatively low level of debt is a serious competitive advantage, and one that the Government is fully committed to maintaining.

Keeping our economy moving forward.

Even though our economy is doing well, the Government needs to be ready to respond to whatever challenges might arise. This Economic and Fiscal Update includes a fiscal track that recognizes the challenging economic realities Canada may face in the years ahead. It recognizes what the Parliamentary Budget Officer has affirmed: that current government spending is sustainable over the long term—and gives the Government the room it needs to invest for long-term growth.

Continuing to build confidence in Canada's economy, making sure that the world continues to see us as a great place to invest. 

Canada has a "triple A" credit rating from the three most recognized credit rating agencies. This strong rating reflects the confidence that others have in Canada's economic strength. It's the Government's goal to preserve this rating as it works to make life more affordable for more Canadians.

Lower Taxes for the Middle Class and People Working Hard to Join It

Building on the success of the 2015 middle class tax cut that lowered taxes for more than nine million Canadians, the Government is moving forward with a proposal that would put more money in the pockets of Canadians. On December 9, 2019, the Government tabled in the House of Commons a Notice of Ways and Means Motion that proposes to amend the Income Tax Act to lower taxes for the middle class, and people working hard to join the middle class, by increasing the Basic Personal Amount (BPA) to $15,000 by 2023.

The enhanced BPA—along with past government actions like the Canada Child Benefit, more help for students and more generous seniors' benefits—would help to make life more affordable for Canadians. It would mean that middle class Canadians, and people working hard to join the middle class, would pay no federal taxes on the first $15,000 they earn. This increase would cut taxes for close to 20 million Canadians, and would be phased in over four years, starting in 2020. It would put $3 billion into the pockets of Canadian households in 2020, with this amount rising to $6 billion by 2023.

When fully implemented in 2023, single individuals would save close to $300 in taxes every year, and families, including those led by a single parent, would save nearly $600 every year. It would mean that nearly 1.1 million more Canadians would no longer pay federal income tax at all.

To ensure that this tax relief goes to the people who need help most, the Government would phase out the benefits of the increased BPA for wealthy individuals.

The Government also proposes to increase two related amounts, the Spouse or Common-Law Partner Amount and the Eligible Dependant Credit, to $15,000 by 2023. The proposed increase in the BPA and related amounts is expected to save Canadians about $25.2 billion in taxes over 2019–20 to 2024–25.

What Is the Basic Personal Amount?

To help all Canadians cover their most basic needs, no federal income tax is collected on a certain amount of income that a person earns. This is called the Basic Personal Amount, or BPA. In 2020, the BPA would allow Canadians to earn close to $12,300 before owing any federal tax. The Government is proposing increases to the BPA that would see it rise to $15,000 by 2023.

Table 1
Existing and Proposed Basic Personal Amounts
Year Existing BPA1 Proposed BPA
2020 $12,298 $13,229
2021 $12,554 $13,808
2022 $12,783 $14,398
2023 $13,038 $15,000
1 Based on Department of Finance Canada projections for indexation for the 2021-2023 period.

A Single Individual Would Save Close to $300 by 2023

  • Paul lives in Wetaskiwin, Alberta. He has just graduated from college and has accepted a job paying $50,000 a year. The proposed increase to the BPA means that Paul would pay less tax starting in 2020, with tax savings of close to $300 in 2023.

A Two-Earner Couple Would Save Close to $600 by 2023

  • Jean and Robert live in Regina, Saskatchewan. Robert works full-time and earns $40,000 per year, while Jean works part-time and earns $20,000. Both Jean and Robert would benefit from the proposed BPA increase starting in 2020; their combined tax savings in 2023 would be close to $600.

A One-Earner Couple With One Child Would Save Close to $600 by 2023

  • Ian and Wendy live in Brampton, Ontario. Ian stays at home with their child, while Wendy is self-employed and earns $100,000 a year. Wendy's taxes would be reduced starting in 2020. Since she can claim the Spouse or Common-Law Partner Amount in addition to the BPA, her tax savings in 2023 would be close to $600.

A Single Parent Would Save Close to $600 by 2023

  • Amrita is a single parent living in Cambridge-Narrows, New Brunswick, with one child. She earns $40,000 a year and would see tax savings starting in 2020. Given she can claim the Eligible Dependant Credit in addition to the BPA, her tax savings would be close to $600 in 2023.

GBA+ Summary

Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+) is an analytical process used to assess how diverse groups of women, men and non-binary people may experience policies, programs and initiatives. GBA+ goes beyond gender to consider additional identity factors such as ethnicity, sexual orientation, age, income level, and mental or physical ability. Here is the legend for the pictograms contained in this summary. Please see the introduction to Budget 2019's Gender Report for a more detailed description of these terms and fields.

Expected Direct Benefits (gender)

●─○─○─○─○

Predominantly men (e.g. 80 per cent or more men)

○─●─○─○─○

60 per cent - 79 per cent men

○─○─●─○─○

Broadly gender-balanced

○─○─○─●─○

60 per cent - 79 per cent women

○─○─○─○─●

Predominantly women (e.g. 80 per cent or more women)

Expected Impacts (income)

●─○─○─○─○

Strongly benefits high-income individuals (strongly regressive)

○─●─○─○─○

Somewhat benefits high-income individuals (somewhat regressive)

○─○─●─○─○

No significant distributional impacts

○─○─○─●─○

Somewhat benefits low-income individuals (somewhat progressive)

○─○─○─○─●

Strongly benefits low-income individuals (strongly progressive)

Expected Impacts (intergenerational)

●─○─○

Primarily benefits youth, children or future generations

○─●─○

No significant intergenerational impacts

○─○─●

Primarily benefits the baby boom generation or seniors

Increasing the Basic Personal Amount

Increasing the BPA to $15,000 by 2023 would reduce taxes for all individual taxpayers, except those in the top tax bracket (essentially the top 1 per cent). Nearly two-thirds of Canadians who file a tax return would benefit, as over a third of filers already do not pay federal personal income tax.

It is estimated that 52 per cent of beneficiaries would be men and 48 per cent women, and that the distribution of the dollar amount of tax relief would be very similar (53 and 47 per cent, respectively). Women would account for almost 60 per cent of the nearly 1.1 million individuals taken off the tax rolls by the measure.

Individuals in a couple are more likely to benefit from the proposal relative to single individuals (72 per cent vs. 54 per cent, respectively). In about 83 per cent of all couples, at least one member of the couple would benefit. Seniors are less likely to benefit compared to non-seniors (54 per cent vs. 68 per cent), but represent a significant share of all individuals taken off the tax rolls (41 per cent).

The measure would be beneficial for taxpaying single parents (about two-thirds of whom are women), as they would be eligible for both an increased BPA and an increased Eligible Dependent Credit. This would result in a tax reduction of nearly $600 for a single parent in 2023.

GBA+ was performed: Mid-point
Target population: Low- and middle-income taxpayers

Expected Direct Benefits (gender):
Gender composition of benefitting group

Broadly gender-balanced

Expected Impacts (income, age distribution):
Income distribution

No significant distributional impacts

Intergenerational impacts

No significant intergenerational impacts

Table of Contents
Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Introduction

Table des matières

Depuis 2015, le gouvernement met l'accent sur les Canadiens et sur les choses dont ils ont besoin pour bâtir un avenir meilleur pour eux et leur famille. Au cours de cette période, en travaillant ensemble, nous avons fait beaucoup de progrès à cet égard.

Le gouvernement a instauré l'Allocation canadienne pour enfants, qui donne plus d'argent aux familles qui en ont le plus besoin et qui a contribué à sortir près de 300 000 enfants de la pauvreté.

Afin d'accorder un allègement fiscal à plus de 9 millions de Canadiens qui travaillent fort, le gouvernement a réduit l'impôt sur le revenu de la classe moyenne et a augmenté celui de la tranche de 1 % des Canadiens les plus riches.

Pour aider les aînés à faible revenu à joindre les deux bouts, le gouvernement a augmenté le Supplément de revenu garanti et bonifié le Régime de pensions du Canada afin d'assurer aux Canadiens une plus grande sécurité financière à la retraite.

Le gouvernement a réduit les impôts des petites entreprises pour aider les entrepreneurs à faire croître leur entreprise et à créer un plus grand nombre de bons emplois bien rémunérés.

Et le gouvernement construit plus de logements abordables dans les communautés de l'ensemble du pays grâce à la toute première Stratégie nationale sur le logement du Canada, tout en contribuant à rendre l'achat d'une première propriété plus abordable.

Grâce à ces mesures et au travail acharné des Canadiens, l'économie du Canada est forte et en croissance.

Au cours des quatre dernières années, les Canadiens ont créé plus d'un million de nouveaux emplois, et une plus forte croissance des salaires a permis à plus de gens d'améliorer leur situation. En même temps, il y a encore trop de personnes qui s'inquiètent de ne pas pouvoir joindre les deux bouts et qui se préoccupent de leur avenir et de celui de leur famille. Cela s'applique particulièrement dans le cas des gens dont l'emploi est menacé en période de ralentissement économique, comme on l'a observé récemment dans l'Ouest canadien. Il reste beaucoup de travail à faire pour bâtir une économie qui fonctionne réellement pour tout le monde.

Les Canadiens ont clairement indiqué qu'ils veulent un gouvernement qui non seulement est à l'écoute de ces préoccupations, mais qui prend des mesures concrètes et significatives pour y répondre, de façon responsable et équilibrée – un gouvernement qui est prêt à répondre à tous les défis que l'avenir peut réserver.

Un plan budgétaire responsable

Une économie vigoureuse prend appui sur une classe moyenne forte – et la meilleure façon d'aider la classe moyenne à croître et à prospérer est d'investir dans les gens et dans nos communautés. Le gouvernement dispose d'un plan budgétaire responsable qui permettra de poursuivre dans cette voie. Il s'agit d'un plan qui repose sur les quatre principaux engagements du gouvernement :

Continuer d'investir dans les gens et dans les choses qui leur permettent de profiter d'une meilleure qualité de vie

Les quatre dernières années ont démontré ce qui peut arriver lorsque le gouvernement accorde la priorité aux gens et investit dans des choses qui leur facilitent la vie : plus d'argent aux familles pour favoriser la croissance de l'économie, un plus grand nombre de bons emplois, des communautés plus accueillantes et, selon les estimations, 900 000 personnes de moins qui vivent dans la pauvreté. Le gouvernement continuera de collaborer avec les peuples autochtones en vue d'assurer une meilleure qualité de vie pour leurs familles et leurs communautés, et il s'appuiera sur les progrès réalisés au bénéfice de tous au Canada en effectuant des investissements qui aideront véritablement les gens.

Continuer de réduire la dette fédérale par rapport à la taille de l'économie 

Le ratio de la dette nette au produit intérieur brut (PIB) du Canada est faible et soutenable. Cela confère au Canada une position enviable, surtout par rapport aux autres pays du Groupe des Sept (G7). Notre niveau d'endettement relativement faible représente un avantage concurrentiel important – un avantage que notre gouvernement est pleinement déterminé à maintenir.

Maintenir les progrès économiques

Même si notre économie se porte bien, le gouvernement doit être prêt à relever tous les défis qui pourraient se présenter. La présente Mise à jour économique et budgétaire comprend un profil budgétaire qui reconnaît les réalités économiques difficiles auxquelles le Canada pourrait être confronté au cours des prochaines années. Elle illustre ce que le directeur parlementaire du budget a affirmé – que les dépenses gouvernementales actuelles sont viables à long terme – et donne au gouvernement la marge de manœuvre dont il a besoin pour investir dans la croissance à long terme.

Continuer de renforcer la confiance dans l'économie canadienne afin de veiller à ce que les gens considèrent le Canada comme un excellent endroit où investir 

Les trois agences de notation les plus reconnues ont accordé une cote de crédit de niveau AAA au Canada. Cette cote élevée reflète la confiance des autres en la vigueur de l'économie canadienne. L'objectif du gouvernement est de préserver cette cote, car elle permet de rendre le coût de la vie plus abordable pour un plus grand nombre de Canadiens.

Baisse d'impôt pour la classe moyenne et les gens qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie

S'appuyant sur la réussite de la baisse d'impôt pour la classe moyenne de 2015, dont plus de 9 millions de Canadiens ont pu profiter, le gouvernement y va d'une proposition qui permettrait de mettre plus d'argent dans les poches des Canadiens. Le 9 décembre 2019, le gouvernement a déposé à la Chambre des communes un avis de motion de voies et moyens qui propose de modifier la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu afin de réduire les impôts de la classe moyenne et des gens qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie, en augmentant le montant personnel de base (MPB) à 15 000 $ d'ici 2023.

Le MPB bonifié, ainsi que les mesures que le gouvernement a prises par le passé comme l'Allocation canadienne pour enfants, une meilleure aide financière aux étudiants et des prestations plus généreuses aux aînés, contribuerait à rendre le coût de la vie plus abordable pour les Canadiens. Cette bonification signifierait que les Canadiens de la classe moyenne et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie ne paieraient aucun impôt fédéral sur les premiers 15 000 $ qu'ils gagnent. Elle réduirait l'impôt de près de 20 millions de Canadiens et serait échelonnée sur quatre ans, à compter de 2020. Elle mettrait 3 milliards de dollars dans les poches des ménages canadiens en 2020, et ce montant augmenterait à 6 milliards de dollars d'ici 2023.

Lorsque cette augmentation aura été pleinement mise en œuvre, en 2023, les personnes seules économiseront chaque année près de 300 $ en impôt, et les familles, y compris les familles monoparentales, près de 600 $. Cela signifierait que près de 1,1 million de Canadiens de plus cesseraient de payer l'impôt fédéral sur le revenu.

Pour s'assurer que cet allègement fiscal sera accordé aux personnes qui en ont le plus besoin, le gouvernement éliminerait progressivement les avantages liés à l'augmentation du MPB pour les personnes fortunées.

Le gouvernement propose également d'augmenter à 15 000 $ deux montants connexes, soit le montant pour époux ou conjoint de fait et le crédit pour personne à charge admissible, d'ici 2023. L'augmentation proposée du MPB et des montants connexes devrait permettre aux Canadiens d'économiser environ 25,2 milliards de dollars en impôts au cours de la période de 2019-2020 à 2024-2025.

Qu'est-ce que le montant personnel de base?

Pour aider tous les Canadiens à satisfaire leurs besoins fondamentaux, aucun impôt fédéral sur le revenu n'est perçu sur un certain montant du revenu qu'une personne gagne. Ce montant s'appelle le montant personnel de base (MPB). En 2020, le MPB permettrait aux Canadiens de gagner près de 12 300 $ avant d'avoir à payer de l'impôt fédéral sur le revenu. Le gouvernement propose d'augmenter le MPB à 15 000 $ d'ici 2023.

Tableau 1
MPB actuel et MPB proposé
Année MPB actuel1 MPB proposé
2020 12 298 $ 13 229 $
2021 12 554 $ 13 808 $
2022 12 783 $ 14 398 $
2023 13 038 $ 15 000 $
1 D'après les projections du ministère des Finances du Canada concernant l'indexation pour la période de 2021 à 2023.

Une personne seule économiserait près de 300 $ d'ici 2023

  • Paul habite à Wetaskiwin (Alberta). Il vient tout juste d'obtenir son diplôme d'études collégiales et a accepté un emploi dont la rémunération est de 50 000 $ par année. L'augmentation proposée du MPB signifie que Paul paierait moins d'impôt à partir de 2020, et qu'il économiserait près de 300 $ en impôt en 2023.

Un couple à deux revenus économiserait près de 600 $ d'ici 2023

  • Jeanne et Robert habitent à Regina (Saskatchewan). Robert travaille à temps plein et gagne 40 000 $ par année, tandis que Jeanne travaille à temps partiel et gagne 20 000 $. Jeanne et Robert bénéficieraient tous deux de l'augmentation proposée du MPB à compter de 2020; en 2023, leurs économies d'impôt combinées s'élèveraient à près de 600 $.

Un couple à un seul revenu avec un enfant économiserait près de 600 $ d'ici 2023

  • Ian et Wendy vivent à Brampton (Ontario). Ian reste à la maison avec leur enfant, tandis que Wendy travaille à son compte et gagne 100 000 $ par année. Les impôts payés par Wendy seront réduits à partir de 2020. Étant donné qu'elle peut demander le montant pour époux ou conjoint de fait en plus du MPB, ses économies d'impôt en 2023 s'élèveraient à près de 600 $.

Un parent seul économiserait près de 600 $ d'ici 2023

  • Amrita est mère monoparentale et vit à Cambridge-Narrows (Nouveau-Brunswick) avec son enfant unique. Elle gagne 40 000 $ par année et réaliserait des économies d'impôt à compter de 2020. Étant donné qu'elle peut demander le crédit pour personne à charge admissible en plus du MPB, ses économies d'impôt s'élèveraient à près de 600 $ en 2023.

Résumé de l'ACS+

L'analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) est un processus analytique qui sert à évaluer les répercussions potentielles des politiques, des programmes et des initiatives sur divers groupes de femmes, d'hommes et de personnes non binaires. L'ACS+ va au-delà du genre; elle considère aussi d'autres facteurs identitaires, comme l'origine ethnique, l'orientation sexuelle, l'âge, le niveau de revenu et les capacités mentales ou physiques. Voici la légende des pictogrammes contenus dans le présent résumé. Veuillez consulter l'introduction du Rapport sur l'égalité entre les sexes du budget de 2019 pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les termes et les champs du présent résumé.

Avantages directs prévus (selon le sexe)

●─○─○─○─○

Surtout les hommes (p. ex., 80 % ou plus)

○─●─○─○─○

De 60 % à 79 % des hommes

○─○─●─○─○

Globalement équilibré entre les sexes

○─○─○─●─○

De 60 % à 79 % des femmes

○─○─○─○─●

Surtout les femmes (p. ex., 80 % ou plus)

Incidence prévue (selon le revenu)

●─○─○─○─○

Très avantageux pour les personnes à revenu élevé (très régressif)

○─●─○─○─○

Un peu avantageux pour les personnes à revenu élevé (quelque peu régressif)

○─○─●─○─○

Aucune incidence marquée sur la répartition du revenu

○─○─○─●─○

Un peu avantageux pour les personnes à faible revenu (quelque peu progressif)

○─○─○─○─●

Très avantageux pour les personnes à faible revenu (très progressif)

Incidence prévue (intergénérationelle)

●─○─○

Profite principalement aux jeunes, aux enfants et aux futures générations

○─●─○

Aucune incidence intergénérationnelle marquée

○─○─●

Profite principalement aux baby-boomers ou aux aînés

Augmentation du montant personnel de base

L'augmentation du BPA à 15 000 $ d'ici 2023 réduirait les impôts pour tous les particuliers contribuables, sauf ceux de la fourchette d'imposition supérieure (essentiellement le percentile 1 % supérieur). Près des deux tiers des Canadiens qui produisent une déclaration de revenus en tireraient avantage, car plus du tiers des déclarants ne paient déjà aucun impôt fédéral sur le revenu des particuliers. 

On estime que 52 % des bénéficiaires seraient des hommes et 48 %, des femmes, et que la répartition en dollars des allègements fiscaux serait très similaire (53 % et 47 %, respectivement). Les femmes représenteraient près de 60 % des quelque 1,1 million de personnes qui n'auraient plus à payer d'impôt grâce à cette mesure.

Les personnes en couple sont plus susceptibles de bénéficier de la proposition que les personnes seules (72 % par rapport à 54 %, respectivement). Dans environ 83 % des couples, au moins un conjoint en bénéficierait. Les aînés sont moins susceptibles de profiter de la mesure que les personnes qui n'en sont pas (54 % par rapport à 68 %), mais ils représentent une part importante des personnes qui n'auraient plus à payer d'impôt (41 %).

La mesure serait avantageuse pour les parents seuls payant des impôts (dont environ les deux tiers sont des femmes), puisqu'ils seraient admissibles à une augmentation tant du MPB que du crédit pour personne à charge admissible accru. Cela se traduirait par une réduction d'impôt de près de 600 $ pour un parent seul en 2023.

Une ACS+ a été réalisée : À mi-parcours
Population cible : Contribuables à revenu faible ou moyen

Avantages directs prévus (selon le sexe) :
Composition par sexe du groupe de bénéficiaires

Composition par sexe du groupe de bénéficiaires

Incidence prévue (selon le revenu ou l'âge) :
Selon le revenu

Selon le revenu

Incidence intergénérationnelle

Incidence intergénérationnelle

Table des matières
Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification :