Language selection

Search

Annex 2
Update on the 2021-22 Debt Management Strategy

On this page:

Introduction

The government released, as part of Budget 2021, the 2021-22 Debt Management Strategy, which set out the government’s objectives, strategy, and borrowing plans for its domestic debt program and the management of its official international reserves.

As first outlined in the July 2020 Economic and Fiscal Snapshot, the government issued long-term debt to finance the emergency support to Canadians and Canadian businesses through the COVID-19 pandemic.

The government announced, in Budget 2021, that it would consult with market participants to assess the market’s capacity to absorb long-term debt issuance, and would make any necessary adjustments to maintain stability in Canada’s financial markets.

In October 2021, the Department of Finance and the Bank of Canada held over 30 bilateral virtual meetings and received written comments from market participants. These consultations, which are an integral part of the debt management process, sought views on issues related to the design and operation of the Government of Canada’s domestic debt program. A detailed summary of the fall 2021 consultations can be found online.

Adjustments to the 2021-22 Borrowing Plan

Consistent with the direction laid out in the 2021-22 Debt Management Strategy, this year’s strategy continues to maximize the financing of COVID-19-related debt through long-term issuance. This approach provides security by lowering debt rollover and providing more predictable public debt charges over the long-term. This will ensure that Canada’s debt is sustainable and will not weigh on future generations.

The fiscal outlook for 2021-22 has improved since Budget 2021, with a 2021-22 financial requirement that is projected to be $35 billion lower than the spring estimate.

Reflecting these lower financial requirements, the expected bond program issuance for 2021-22 has been reduced by $31 billion and treasury bills stock has been reduced by $28 billion from the levels outlined in the 2021-22 Debt Management Strategy. The updated projection for gross issuance of bonds and treasury bills is set out in Table A2.1.

Table A2.1
Projected Gross Issuance of Bonds and Bills for 2021-22
billions of dollars
2020-21
Actual1
2021-22
Budget 2021
2021-22
Update
Change from
Budget 2021
Treasury bills 219 226 198 -28
2-year
129 76 67 -9
3-year
57 36 29 -7
5-year
82 48 40 -8
10-year
74 84 79 -5
30-year
32 32 30 -2
Real Return Bonds (RRB)
1 1 1 0
Ultra-long
- 4 4 0
Green bonds
- 52 52 0
Total bonds 374 286 255 -31
Total gross issuance 593 512 453 -59

Sources: Bank of Canada; Department of Finance Canada calculations.

Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding

1 Includes a 5-year auction conducted in March 2021 with a settlement date in the 2021-22 fiscal year.

2 Target issuance, subject to market conditions.

The reductions to this year’s bond program relative to the Budget 2021 plan reflect lower-than-expected financial requirements. They have been implemented to support market well-functioning across all sectors, while still maintaining the government’s objective of maximizing the financing of COVID-19-related debt through long-term issuance, which remains at historically high issuance levels (Chart A2.1).

Chart A2.1
Government of Canada Issuance of Long-term Bonds (historical vs. projected)
Chart A2.1: Government of Canada Issuance of Long-term Bonds (historical vs. projected)

Source: Department of Finance Canada calculations.

Text version
10-year 30-year RRB Ultra-long
2006-
07
10.4 3.3 1.6
2007-
08
10.7 3.4 2.25
2008-
09
15.7 5.1 2.1
2009-
10
17.4 7.0 2.2
2010-
11
12.0 5.0 2.2
2011-
12
10.0 4.7 2.2
2012-
13
16.5 6.7 2.2
2013-
14
14.0 5.0 2.2
2014-
15
13.3 4.6 2.2 3.5
2015-
16
10.0 3.2 2.2
2016-
17
15.0 4.3 2.2
2017-
18
15.0 4.3 2.2 1.3
2018-
19
13.5 3.8 2.2
2019-
20
13.0 4.2 1.8
2020-
21
73.5 32.0 1.4
2021-
22
79.0 30.0 1.4 4.0

As a result of the adjustments, issuances with a maturity of 10 years or greater are now at a higher proportion of total bond issuances than what was initially planned in the 2021-22 Debt Management Strategy. Furthermore, as Table A2.2 shows, the level of bonds with a maturity of 10 years or greater will be higher in 2021-22 than 2020-21 in both relative and absolute terms.

It is expected that nearly half of the government’s bond issuance this year will be long-term bonds. This is a significant shift since 2019-20, when approximately 15 per cent of bonds issued had a maturity of 10 years or greater.

Table A2.2
Gross Bond Issuances by Maturity
billions of dollars
  2020-21
Previous Year
2021-22
Budget 2021
2021-22
Update
Issuance1 Share of Bond Issuance Issuance Share of Bond Issuance Issuance Share of Bond Issuance
Short (2, 3, 5-year sectors) 267 71% 160 56% 136 53%
Long (10-year+) 107 29% 121 42% 114 45%
Green bond - - 52 2% 52 2%
Gross Bond Issuance 374 100% 286 100% 255 100%

Sources: Bank of Canada; Department of Finance Canada calculations.

Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding

1 Includes a 5-year auction conducted in March 2021 with a settlement date in the 2021-22 fiscal year.

2 Target issuance, subject to market conditions.

Green Bonds

In the Fall Economic Statement 2020, the government announced its intention to issue the federal government’s first ever green bond to support its historic investments in climate action and environmental initiatives.

Significant progress has been made in preparation for Canada’s inaugural green bond issuance, including the establishment of an Interdepartmental Green Bond Committee to support the development of Canada’s green bond framework, the engagement of HSBC and TD Securities as structuring advisors, and the appointment of Sustainalytics to undertake a second-party opinion review process.

The government plans to publish its green bond framework in the final quarter of 2021-22. The inaugural green bond issuance will target $5 billion and is planned by the end of 2021-22, subject to market conditions. This will be Canada’s first green bond and the government intends for it to be a regular offering.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Annexe 2
Mise à jour sur la Stratégie de gestion de la dette de 2021-2022

Sur cette page :

Introduction

Dans le budget de 2021, le gouvernement a publié la Stratégie de gestion de la dette de 2021-2022, dans laquelle il énonce les objectifs, la stratégie et les plans de son programme d’emprunt sur le marché intérieur et de la gestion de ses réserves officielles de liquidités internationales.

Comme on a pu le voir initialement dans le Portrait économique et budgétaire de juillet 2020, le gouvernement a émis des titres de créance à long terme pour financer l’aide d’urgence offerte aux Canadiens et aux entreprises canadiennes pendant la pandémie de COVID-19.

Dans le budget de 2021, le gouvernement a annoncé qu’il consulterait les participants au marché pour évaluer la capacité du marché d’absorber l’émission de titres de créance à long terme, et qu’il apporterait des rajustements au besoin pour maintenir la stabilité dans les marchés financiers du Canada.

En octobre 2021, le ministère des Finances et la Banque du Canada ont tenu plus de 30 réunions virtuelles bilatérales et reçu les observations écrites des participants au marché. Ces consultations, qui font partie intégrante du processus de gestion de la dette, visaient à obtenir des avis sur des questions concernant la conception et le fonctionnement du programme d’emprunt sur le marché intérieur du gouvernement du Canada. Un sommaire détaillé des consultations de l’automne 2021 est accessible à l’adresse suivante

Rajustements apportés au plan d’emprunt de 2021-2022

Conformément à l’orientation énoncée dans la Stratégie de gestion de la dette de 2021-2022, la stratégie de cette année continue de maximiser le financement de la dette liée à la COVID-19 par l’émission à long terme. Cette approche assure la sécurité en réduisant le refinancement de la dette et en présentant des frais de la dette publique plus prévisibles à long terme. On s’assure ainsi que la dette du Canada est viable et qu’elle ne pèsera pas sur les futures générations.

Les perspectives financières pour 2021-2022 se sont améliorées depuis le budget de 2021, et les besoins financiers de 2021-2022 devraient être de 35 milliards de dollars inférieurs à l’estimation du printemps.

Étant donné la diminution des besoins financiers, l’émission prévue du programme d’obligations pour 2021-2022 a été réduite de 31 milliards de dollars et l’encours des bons du Trésor a été réduit de 28 milliards par rapport aux niveaux décrits dans la Stratégie de gestion de la dette de 2021-2022. La projection actualisée pour l’émission brute d’obligations et de bons du Trésor est présentée dans le tableau A2.1.

Tableau A2.1
Émissions brutes d’obligations et de bons projetées en 2021-2022
G$
2020-21
Données réelles1
2021-22
Budget de 2021
2021-22
Mise à jour
Variation par
rapport au budget
de 2021
Bons du Trésor 219 226 198 -28
2 ans
129 76 67 -9
3 ans
57 36 29 -7
5 ans
82 48 40 -8
10 ans
74 84 79 -5
30 ans
32 32 30 -2
Obligations à rendement réel (ORR)
1 1 1 0
À très longue échéance
- 4 4 0
Obligations vertes
- 52 52 0
Total – Obligations 374 286 255 -31
Total – Émissions brutes 593 512 453 -59

Sources : Banque du Canada; calculs du ministère des Finances Canada

Nota – Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre au total indiqué.

1 Comprend une adjudication d’obligations à cinq ans menée en mars 2021 dont la date de règlement était fixée au cours de l’exercice 2021-22.

2 Cible d’émission, sous réserve des conditions du marché.

Les réductions du programme d’obligations de cette année par rapport au plan du budget de 2021 s’expliquent par les besoins financiers moins élevés que prévu. Elles ont été mises en œuvre de façon à favoriser le bon fonctionnement du marché dans tous les secteurs, tout en maintenant l’objectif du gouvernement de maximiser le financement de la dette liée à la COVID-19 par l’émission d’obligations à long terme, qui demeure à des niveaux d’émission historiquement élevés (graphique A2.1).

Graphique A2.1
Émission d’obligations à long terme du gouvernement du Canada (historique et prévue)
Graphique A2.1 : Émission d’obligations à long terme du gouvernement du Canada (historique et prévue)

Source : Calculs du ministère des Finances Canada

Version texte
10 ans 30 ans ORR À très longue échéance
2006-
2007
10,4 3,3 1,6
2007-
2008
10,7 3,4 2,25
2008-
2009
15,7 5,1 2,1
2009-
2010
17,4 7,0 2,2
2010-
2011
12,0 5,0 2,2
2011-
2012
10,0 4,7 2,2
2012-
2013
16,5 6,7 2,2
2013-
2014
14,0 5,0 2,2
2014-
2015
13,3 4,6 2,2 3,5
2015-
2016
10,0 3,2 2,2
2016-
2017
15,0 4,3 2,2
2017-
2018
15,0 4,3 2,2 1,3
2018-
2019
13,5 3,8 2,2
2019-
2020
13,0 4,2 1,8
2020-
2021
73,5 32,0 1,4
2021-
2022
79,0 30,0 1,4 4,0

À la suite des rajustements, les émissions de titres dont l’échéance est de 10 ans ou plus représentent maintenant une proportion plus élevée de l’émission totale d’obligations que ce qui était initialement prévu dans la Stratégie de gestion de la dette de 2021-2022. De plus, comme l’indique le tableau A2.2, l’émission d’obligations dont l’échéance est de 10 ans ou plus sera plus importante en 2021-2022 qu’en 2020-2021, tant en termes relatifs qu’en termes absolus.

On prévoit que près de la moitié des obligations émises cette année par le gouvernement seront des obligations à long terme. Il s’agit d’un changement notable depuis 2019-2020, alors qu’environ 15 % des obligations émises avaient une échéance de 10 ans ou plus.

Tableau A2.2
Émissions brutes d’obligations par échéance
G$
  2020-21
Exercice précédent
2021-22
Budget de 2021
2021-22
Mise à jour
Émission1 Proportion des émissions Émission Proportion des émissions Émission Proportion des émissions
À court terme (segments de 2, 3, 5 ans) 267 71 % 160 56 % 136 53 %
À long terme (10 ans et plus) 107 29 % 121 42 % 114 45 %
Obligations vertes - - 52 2 % 52 2 %
Émission brute d’obligations 374 100 % 286 100 % 255 100 %

Sources : Banque du Canada; calculs du ministère des Finances Canada

Nota – Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre au total indiqué.

1 Comprend une adjudication d’obligations à cinq ans menée en mars 2021 dont la date de règlement était fixée au cours de l’exercice 2021-2022.

2 Cible d’émission, sous réserve des conditions du marché.

Obligations vertes

Dans l’Énoncé économique de l’automne de 2020, le gouvernement a annoncé qu’il entendait émettre la toute première obligation verte du gouvernement fédéral afin d’appuyer ses investissements historiques dans des initiatives climatiques et environnementales.

D’importants progrès ont été réalisés dans la préparation de l’émission inaugurale d’obligations vertes du Canada, notamment la création d’un comité interministériel sur les obligations vertes pour appuyer l’élaboration du cadre d’obligations vertes du Canada, la participation de la Banque HSBC et de Valeurs mobilières TD à titre de conseillers en structuration et la nomination de Sustainalytics pour entreprendre un processus d’examen, l’opinion de seconde partie.

Le gouvernement prévoit publier son cadre d’obligations vertes au dernier trimestre de 2021-2022. L’émission inaugurale d’obligations vertes du Canada, dont la cible sera de cinq milliards de dollars, est prévue d’ici la fin de 2021-2022, sous réserve des conditions du marché. Il s’agira de la première obligation verte du Canada, et le gouvernement prévoit qu’une telle émission se fera de façon périodique.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s'il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification :