Language selection

Search

Fighting COVID-19

Protecting the health and safety of Canadians.

Fighting COVID-19

After bringing down the number of COVID-19 cases with spring lockdowns, Canada is now facing a resurgence of the virus with rapid growth in daily case counts. The Government of Canada has made significant investments in health care, in securing vaccines, in procuring medical and personal protective equipment, in income support and paid sick leave, and overall, in keeping Canadians and businesses safe, healthy, and solvent through the turbulence of the pandemic. The best economic policy continues to be a strong health policy.

Protecting the Health and Safety of Canadians

Confirmed Vaccine Doses Procured per Person by Vaccine Candidate
Chart 1.5

Vaccines and Therapeutics

To date, Canada has invested over $1 billion in vaccine agreements and secured a domestic supply of up to 429 million doses of promising COVID-19 vaccine candidates. Canada has secured the most diverse portfolio of any country.

All Canadians can rest assured that a safe and effective vaccine will be available to them – for free – once it is ready. Canada has also made and continues to make investments to increase vaccine manufacturing capacity here in Canada.

Canada is supporting a coordinated approach, including through joint development of plans with provinces and territories. Canada has secured specialized freezer capacity to hold tens of millions of doses at any given time, ensuring we can handle the specifications of potential vaccine candidates. The Canadian Armed Forces are working with the Public Health Agency of Canada to assist in logistics planning for the rollout of COVID-19 vaccines. This Team Canada approach will ensure that everyone can access a COVID-19 vaccine as seamlessly as possible, including in remote and isolated communities.

Investments to date

Testing and Contact Tracing

The Government of Canada has made significant investments to ensure Canadians can be tested for COVID-19. This included seeking a commitment from provinces and territories to increase testing capacity of up to 200,000 tests per day and providing $4.28 billion in support to help them reach that goal. The Government of Canada has been working to secure rapid testing technology, which is one of several emerging technologies that can be used to quickly identify and respond to outbreaks of the virus. In total, Canada has procured over 38 million rapid tests which is over three times the total number of tests performed to date. More than 5 million rapid test kits have been delivered to provinces so far.

The COVID Alert App is a nationwide mobile app that lets users know if they have been exposed to COVID-19. The app is available to all Canadians and is currently connected to the health systems in Northwest Territories and every province except British Columbia and Alberta. As of late November, there have been more than 5.5 million downloads of the app and over 6,200 positive cases registered using the app, notifying untold thousands more people of a potential exposure and preventing thousands more new cases.

Proposed investments

Personal Protective Equipment and Medical Equipment

The Government of Canada has committed over $7.6 billion to rapidly procure more than two billion pieces of personal protective equipment (PPE). Canada continues to aggressively procure vital supplies to keep our nurses, our doctors and frontline health care workers well-equipped and to keep all Canadians safe in the months and years ahead. This funding is in addition to the $3 billion for PPE procurement provided directly to provinces and territories through the Safe Restart Agreement.

Proposed measures

Helping Vulnerable Canadians and Improving Public Health

COVID-19 is having the worst impact on our most vulnerable and those already facing greater health inequities. Fighting COVID-19 requires a complex and multi-faceted public health response. It needs a focus not only on physical health but on mental health, our physical environments, and in ensuring supports are available for those who are more vulnerable to the virus.

Proposed investments

Protecting People in Long-term Care

The devastating COVID-19 outbreaks in long-term care homes have highlighted the gaps in standards and care for our most vulnerable. Tragically, a large majority of COVID-19 deaths have occurred in long-term care facilities and seniors residences. In the spring, the women and men of the Canadian Armed Forces were deployed to 54 affected long-term care facilities across Quebec and Ontario.

Through the Safe Restart Agreement, the federal government invested $740 million to help provinces and territories address immediate needs of vulnerable populations, including those in long-term care. The federal government has helped provinces and territories to fight the outbreaks in long-term care facilities by providing PPE, contact tracing and over $39 million in funding for direct assistance through the Canadian Red Cross.

New National Standards

Our seniors deserve to be safe, respected, and live in dignity. In order make sure our seniors and those in care live in safe and dignified conditions, the federal government will work with provinces and territories to set new, national standards for long-term care.

Proposed investments

Supporting the Health Response in Indigenous and Northern Communities

Indigenous and Northern communities have worked diligently to control the spread of the virus in their communities. The government recognizes that Indigenous and northern communities face unique challenges in responding to the pandemic including a higher incidence of pre-existing health vulnerabilities, difficulties in accessing healthy food and health services, and overcrowded living conditions that make it difficult to physically distance.

Proposed investments

More Information

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Lutter contre la COVID-19

Protéger la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens.

Lutter contre la COVID-19

Après avoir réduit le nombre de cas au printemps grâce à des mesures de confinement, le Canada est confronté maintenant à une résurgence du virus en raison d’une croissance rapide du nombre de cas quotidien. Le gouvernement du Canada a réalisé des investissements importants dans les soins de santé, l’obtention de vaccins, l’approvisionnement en matériel médical et en équipement de protection individuelle, le soutien du revenu et les congés de maladie payés. De façon générale, il a investi pour protéger la sécurité, la santé et la solvabilité des Canadiens et des entreprises pendant la période de turbulence causée par la pandémie. La meilleure politique économique demeure une politique de santé solide.

Protéger la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens

Doses de différents candidats-vaccins dont l’approvisionnement est confirmé, par habitant
Chart 1.5

Investissements à ce jour

Dépistage et recherche des contacts

Le gouvernement du Canada a réalisé des investissements importants afin de garantir l’accès des Canadiens à des tests de dépistage de la COVID‑19. Il a notamment demandé aux provinces et aux territoires de s’engager à augmenter leur capacité de dépistage d’un niveau pouvant atteindre 200 000 tests par jour, et il a fourni un soutien de 4,28 milliards de dollars pour les aider à atteindre cet objectif. Le gouvernement du Canada s’est efforcé d’obtenir la technologie de dépistage rapide, qui constitue l’une des nombreuses nouvelles technologies pouvant servir au repérage d’éclosions du virus et aux interventions connexes. Au total, le Canada a acquis plus de 38 millions de tests rapides, ce qui représente plus de trois fois le nombre total de tests effectués jusqu’à maintenant. Plus de 5 millions de trousses de tests rapides ont été livrées aux provinces jusqu’à maintenant.

L’appli Alerte COVID est une application mobile offerte à l’échelle du pays qui informe les utilisateurs s’ils ont été exposés à la COVID‑19. L’application, qui est offerte à l’ensemble des Canadiens, est actuellement reliée aux systèmes de santé des Territoires du Nord‑Ouest et de toutes les provinces à l’exception de la Colombie‑Britannique et de l’Alberta. À la fin de novembre, l’application avait été téléchargée à plus de 5,5 millions de reprises, et plus de 6 200 cas positifs de COVID‑19 y ont été enregistrés, ce qui a permis d’aviser des milliers d’autres personnes d’une exposition potentielle et d’éviter des milliers d’autres nouveaux cas.


Investissements proposés

Équipement de protection individuelle et matériel médical

Le gouvernement du Canada a engagé plus de 7,6 milliards de dollars envers l’acquisition rapide de plus de 2 milliards d’unités d’équipement de protection individuelle (EPI). Le Canada poursuit vigoureusement l’acquisition de matériel médical critique pour aider les infirmières, les médecins et les travailleurs de la santé de première ligne à demeurer bien outillés et pour protéger tous les Canadiens au cours des mois et des années à venir. Ce financement s’ajoute aux 3 milliards versés directement aux provinces et aux territoires pour l’approvisionnement en EPI en vertu de l’Accord sur la relance sécuritaire.

Mesures proposées

Aider les Canadiens vulnérables et améliorer la santé publique

Les répercussions les plus graves de la COVID‑19 sont observées chez les personnes les plus vulnérables et celles qui doivent déjà composer avec de plus fortes inégalités en matière de santé. La lutte contre la COVID‑19 exige une intervention en santé publique complexe et multidimensionnelle. Il faut mettre l’accent non seulement sur la santé physique, mais aussi sur la santé mentale, les environnements physiques et le fait de veiller à ce que les personnes les plus vulnérables au virus bénéficient de mesures de soutien. 

Investissements proposés

Protéger les personnes dans les établissements de soins de longue durée

Les éclosions dévastatrices de COVID‑19 dans les centres de soins de longue durée ont mis en évidence des lacunes au chapitre des normes et des soins pour les personnes les plus vulnérables. Tragiquement, une grande majorité des décès causés par la COVID‑19 sont survenus dans des établissements de soins de longue durée et des résidences pour personnes âgées. Au printemps, des hommes et des femmes des Forces armées canadiennes ont été déployés dans 54 établissements de soins de longue durée touchés, répartis dans l’ensemble de l’Ontario et du Québec.

Dans le cadre de l’Accord sur la relance sécuritaire, le gouvernement fédéral a investi 740 millions de dollars pour aider les provinces et les territoires à répondre aux besoins immédiats des populations vulnérables, y compris les personnes en soins de longue durée. Le gouvernement fédéral a aidé les provinces et les territoires à lutter contre les éclosions dans les établissements de soins de longue durée en leur fournissant de l’équipement de protection individuelle (EPI), des services de recherche des contacts et de l’aide directe de 39 millions de dollars par l’entremise de la Croix‑Rouge canadienne.

Nouvelles normes nationales

Les aînés méritent d’être en sécurité, d’être respectés et de vivre dans la dignité. Afin de s’assurer que les aînés et les bénéficiaires des centres de soins vivent dans des conditions sécuritaires et dignes, le gouvernement fédéral collaborera avec les provinces et les territoires à l’établissement de nouvelles normes nationales sur les soins de longue durée.

Investissements proposés

Appuyer les interventions sanitaires dans les communautés autochtones et nordiques

Les communautés autochtones et nordiques ont travaillé avec diligence pour contrôler la propagation du virus. Le gouvernement reconnaît que ces communautés se heurtent à des difficultés qui leur sont propres au moment de lutter contre la pandémie, y compris l’incidence plus élevée de vulnérabilités existantes en matière de santé, la difficulté d’obtenir des aliments sains et des services de santé, et le surpeuplement résidentiel, qui rend la distanciation physique difficile.

Investissements proposés

Renseignements supplémentaires

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification :