Language selection

Search

A prudent fiscal plan

Bridging Canadians through the crisis while preserving Canada’s fiscal advantage.

>A prudent fiscal plan

Canada entered this crisis in a strong fiscal position, allowing the government to take decisive action to put in place the support necessary for people and businesses to weather the storm. The economic shock of COVID-19 is unlike any previous economic crisis. It is the result of a public health emergency that changed our lives overnight. The pandemic has imposed great hardship on Canadians, and has laid bare and even exacerbated inequities that have made certain groups more vulnerable to economic challenges. It is incumbent upon governments to step in with significant support. Canadians should not have to take on debt that their government can better shoulder. That’s what the Government of Canada has done since the beginning.

Bridging Canadians through the Crisis

The federal government has provided more than 8 out of every 10 dollars spent in Canada to fight COVID-19 and support Canadians. By providing Canadian businesses and families with a financial lifeline to pull them through the crisis, the government is helping Canada avoid an even deeper downturn: one that could bring widespread business and personal bankruptcies, and negatively impact generations of Canadians.

Government Support has Prevented Worse Outcomes

Chart 2.1.1
Chart 2.1.2

These measures offset about half of the negative economic effects of the pandemic on the unemployment rate by the second quarter, and about a quarter of the negative effects on real gross domestic product (GDP). The swift, decisive and substantial support provided by the federal government has worked to protect Canadians’ health, Canadians’ jobs and Canadians’ businesses, positioning Canada’s economy for a robust and lasting recovery once the virus is conquered. Government support will help lay the foundation for the economic recovery.

The Plan for a Robust and Resilient Recovery

Fiscal Guardrails

Fiscal guardrails will help establish when recovery stimulus will be wound down. Uncertainties about the timing of the pandemic and global economic developments mean that the timeline for the recovery should not be locked into a rigid pre-determined calendar. Instead, the government will track progress against several related indicators, recognizing that no one data point is a perfect representation of the health of the economy. These indicators include the employment rate, total hours worked and the level of unemployment in the economy. An approach which is guided by economic data will help ensure the recovery is appropriately tailored to the needs of Canadians and the circumstances at hand. These data-driven triggers will let us know when the job of building back from the COVID-19 recession is accomplished, and we can bring one-off stimulus spending to an end, returning to a prudent and responsible fiscal path, based on a long-term fiscal anchor we will outline when the economy is more stable.

The COVID-19 Recession: A Unique Economic Challenge

The economic shock of COVID-19 is unlike any previous economic crisis. It is the result of a public health emergency that changed our lives overnight. The speed, scale and breadth of the contraction in economic activity during the COVID-19 crisis are unmatched by anything we have seen since the Great Depression. Nearly all sectors of the Canadian economy saw historic declines pushing overall GDP to its deepest fall in 90 years. The economic shock has been both unusually deep and incredibly fast. More jobs were lost from mid-March to late April than were created since the end of the 2008 recession.

Preserving Canada’s Fiscal Advantage

Canada’s Economy is Showing Resilience

Chart 2.1.6

Economic Developments since the Summer

Canada has experienced a faster and stronger rebound than originally forecast in the Economic and Fiscal Snapshot in July, and a job recovery that has been faster and stronger than that of the United States. Canada has recovered almost eight in ten of the lost jobs compared to just over half in the United States.

Downside Risks of a Resurgent Virus

While this indicates a continuing economic rebound over the forecast horizon, this outlook is consistent with relatively low levels of ongoing community transmission of the virus. In recognition of the unique and evolving global economic situation, the Department of Finance Canada analyzed alternative scenarios in the event of a more severe resurgence of the virus and its effect on the Canadian economy and public finances. This analysis suggests downside risks to the near-term outlook, with the recovery slowing in the final quarter of 2020 and even possibly declining heading into 2021, reducing the projected rebound in 2021 to an increase of between 2.9 to 4.1 per cent compared to the 4.8 per cent increase expected in the September survey.

Canada’s Debt is Affordable

Chart 4.1.1

Historically Low Public Debt Charges

While the federal debt will be significantly higher than in recent years, this is not the 1990s when it was at its historic peak. Debt-servicing costs exceeded 6 per cent of GDP at that time – compared to under 1 per cent of GDP in 2020-21, the lowest level in over a century. The government is taking advantage of these historically low rates to lock in debt at affordable rates for decades to come.

Highlights of Fiscal Outlook

A Tax System for the Digital Economy

Under current rules, foreign-based digital businesses can sell their goods and services to Canadians without charging the Goods and Services Tax/Harmonized Sales Tax (GST/HST), which puts the burden on Canadian consumers to remit the sales tax. This gives foreign-based digital corporations an unfair advantage, and undercuts the competitiveness of Canadian companies. It also deprives the government of tax revenues that could be used to better the lives of everyone.

The government proposes a number of changes to level the playing field.

Proposed Measures

International Corporate Tax and Digitalization

Corporations in all sectors, including digital corporations, must pay their fair share of taxes in Canada. Canada has been working with our international partners in a process led by the OECD, with a view to developing a coordinated approach by mid-2021. The government remains committed to a multilateral solution, but is concerned about the delay in arriving at consensus. The government therefore proposes to implement a tax on corporations providing digital services, with effect from January 1, 2022, which would apply until such time as an acceptable common approach comes into effect.

Improving Tax Fairness

Canada’s well-funded public services have been critical to protecting the well-being of all Canadians. With Fall Economic Statement 2020, the government is setting out its next steps to make sure the wealthy pay their fair share and everyone gets a fair deal.

Proposed New Actions

More Information

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Un plan budgétaire prudent

Aider les Canadiens à traverser la crise tout en préservant l’avantage budgétaire du Canada.

Un plan budgétaire prudent

Le Canada était en bonne position sur le plan budgétaire lorsque la crise a frappé, ce qui a permis au gouvernement de prendre des mesures décisives afin d’apporter le soutien nécessaire pour aider les citoyens et les entreprises à tenir le coup. Le choc économique causé par la COVID 19 est différent de toutes les crises économiques survenues auparavant. Il découle d’une urgence de santé publique qui a changé nos vies du jour au lendemain. La pandémie a imposé de rudes épreuves aux Canadiens et elle a mis à nu et même exacerbé des inégalités qui ont rendu certains groupes plus vulnérables aux difficultés économiques. Il incombe aux gouvernements d’intervenir et d’offrir un soutien important. Les Canadiens ne devraient pas avoir à s’endetter lorsque leur gouvernement est mieux placé pour le faire. Et c’est ce que le gouvernement du Canada fait depuis le début de cette crise.

Aider les Canadiens à passer au travers de la crise

Le gouvernement fédéral a fourni plus de 8 $ sur chaque montant de 10 $ dépensés au Canada pour combattre la COVID 19 et soutenir les Canadiens. En fournissant aux entreprises et aux familles canadiennes une aide financière leur permettant de surmonter la crise, le gouvernement aide le Canada à éviter un ralentissement encore plus grave : un ralentissement qui pourrait entraîner de très nombreuses faillites personnelles et d’entreprises et qui pourrait avoir des répercussions négatives sur plusieurs générations de Canadiens.

Le soutien du gouvernement a permis d’éviter des résultats encore pires

Chart 2.1.1
Chart 2.1.2

Ces mesures ont compensé environ la moitié des effets économiques de la pandémie sur le taux de chômage à la fin du deuxième trimestre et environ le quart des effets négatifs sur le produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel. Le soutien rapide, décisif et considérable fourni par le gouvernement fédéral a permis de protéger la santé des Canadiens, les emplois des Canadiens et les entreprises canadiennes, mettant ainsi l’économie canadienne en bonne position pour assurer une reprise vigoureuse et durable une fois le virus maîtrisé. Le soutien du gouvernement aidera à jeter les bases de la reprise économique.

Le plan pour une reprise robuste et résiliente

Protections budgétaires

Des protections budgétaires aideront à déterminer quand le plan de relance prendra fin. Les incertitudes quant à l’évolution de la pandémie et à la conjoncture économique mondiale font que l’échéancier de la reprise ne devrait pas être fixé dans un calendrier rigide et préétabli. Le gouvernement suivra plutôt les progrès réalisés en regard de plusieurs indicateurs connexes, en reconnaissant qu’aucun point de données ne représente parfaitement la santé de l’économie. Ces indicateurs comprennent le taux d’emploi, le nombre total d’heures travaillées et le niveau de chômage dans l’économie. Une approche fondée sur des données économiques permettra de s’assurer que la relance est bien adaptée aux besoins des Canadiens et à la situation actuelle. Ces déclencheurs fondés sur des données nous permettront de savoir quand la remise sur pied après la récession causée par la COVID 19 sera terminée. Nous pourrons à ce moment là mettre fin aux dépenses de relance ponctuelles, et revenir à une trajectoire budgétaire prudente et responsable fondée sur une cible budgétaire à long terme, que nous présenterons quand l’économie sera plus stable.

La récession causée par la COVID 19 : un problème économique unique

Le choc économique causé par la COVID 19 est différent de toutes les crises économiques survenues auparavant. Il découle d’une urgence de santé publique qui a changé nos vies du jour au lendemain. La vitesse, l’ampleur et la portée du repli de l’activité économique pendant la crise de la COVID 19 ne peuvent se comparer à rien de ce que nous avons connu depuis la Grande Dépression. Presque tous les secteurs de l’économie canadienne ont connu des baisses historiques, ce qui a entraîné la plus forte chute du produit intérieur brut (PIB) global jamais enregistrée depuis 90 ans. Le choc économique a été à la fois exceptionnellement grave et d’une rapidité incroyable. Le nombre d’emplois perdus de la mi mars à la fin avril a été supérieur au nombre d’emplois créés depuis la fin de la récession de 2008.

Préserver l’avantage budgétaire du Canada

L’économie du Canada montre sa résilience

Chart 2.1.6

Évolution économique depuis l’été

Le Canada a connu un rebond qui est à la fois plus rapide et plus fort que prévu initialement dans le Portrait économique et budgétaire du mois de juillet, ainsi qu’une reprise de l’emploi plus rapide et plus forte que celle des États Unis. Le Canada a récupéré près de huit emplois perdus sur dix, comparativement à un peu plus de la moitié aux États Unis.

Risques de ralentissement dus à une résurgence du viru

Même si elles indiquent le maintien de la reprise économique durant la période de projection, les présentes perspectives correspondent à des niveaux actuels de transmission du virus relativement faibles au sein des communautés. En reconnaissance de la situation économique mondiale unique et en constante évolution, le ministère des Finances du Canada a analysé des scénarios de rechange dans l’éventualité d’une résurgence plus grave du virus, ainsi que ses répercussions sur l’économie et les finances publiques du Canada. Cette analyse laisse entrevoir des risques de détérioration des perspectives à court terme, la reprise ralentissant au cours du dernier trimestre de 2020 et pouvant même se transformer en diminution au début de 2021, ce qui réduirait la reprise projetée de 2021 à une augmentation de 2,9 % à 4,1 %, comparativement à l’augmentation de 4,8 % prévue dans l’enquête de septembre.

La dette du Canada est abordable

Chart 4.1.1

Frais de la dette publique plus faibles que jamais

Même si la dette fédérale sera considérablement plus élevée qu’au cours des dernières années, la situation n’est pas celle des années 1990. À l’époque, elle avait atteint le plus haut niveau jamais enregistré. Les coûts du service de la dette fédérale dépassaient alors 6 % du PIB, par rapport à moins de 1 % du PIB en 2020 2021, leur niveau le plus bas depuis plus d’un siècle. Le gouvernement profite de ces taux historiquement bas pour fixer la dette à des taux abordables pour les décennies à venir.

Faits saillants des perspectives budgétaires

Un régime fiscal pour l’économie numérique

Selon les règles actuelles, les entreprises numériques étrangères peuvent vendre leurs produits et services aux Canadiens sans facturer la taxe sur les produits et services/taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH), ce qui impose aux consommateurs canadiens le fardeau de verser la taxe de vente. Ces ventes sans TPS/TVH donnent aux sociétés numériques établies à l’étranger un avantage injuste et nuisent à la compétitivité des entreprises canadiennes. Elles privent également le gouvernement de recettes fiscales qui pourraient servir à améliorer la vie de tous.

Le gouvernement propose un certain nombre de changements visant à équilibrer les règles du jeu.

Mesures proposées

Impôt sur le revenu des sociétés et numérisation à l’échelle internationale

Les sociétés de tous les secteurs, y compris les sociétés numériques, doivent payer leur juste part d’impôt au Canada. Le Canada collabore avec ses partenaires internationaux à un processus mené par l’OCDE en vue d’élaborer une approche coordonnée d’ici le milieu de 2021. Le gouvernement demeure résolu à trouver une solution multilatérale, mais est préoccupé par le retard qui a été pris pour l’obtention d’un consensus. Ainsi, le gouvernement proposera d’imposer une taxe aux sociétés offrant des services numériques, qui entrerait en vigueur le 1er janvier 2022, jusqu’à ce qu’une approche commune acceptable la remplace.

Un régime fiscal équitable

Les services publics bien financés du Canada se sont avérés essentiels à la protection du bien être de tous les Canadiens. Grâce à l’Énoncé économique de l’automne de 2020, le gouvernement établit les prochaines mesures qu’il prendra pour s’assurer que les riches paient leur juste part et que tout le monde y trouve son compte.

Nouvelles mesures proposées

Renseignements supplémentaires

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification :