Language selection

Search

A Plan for the Coming Months: Supporting Canadians through the Pandemic

Helping families and businesses as we fight a second wave.

Supporting Canadians through the pandemic

The Fall Economic Statement highlights targeted and flexible measures that offer direct support to Canadians so that they can pay their rent and mortgages and feed their families, and scalable support to businesses to help bridge them through the crisis and keep Canadians healthy, safe and solvent. Together, these form a comprehensive and complementary safety net, which will be in place through to the summer of 2021, offering economic certainty to Canadians and Canadian businesses in a turbulent and difficult time.

An Unprecedented Economic Shock

The COVID-19 pandemic has brought about the deepest and fastest recession, worldwide, since the Great Depression. Here at home, the shock to the Canadian economy caused by the spread of COVID-19 was historically sudden and deep. The decline in real gross domestic product (GDP) in the second quarter was, by far, the largest on record, with much of the damage occurring over a very short time from mid-March to the end of April. Over this period, more than 3 million Canadians lost their jobs and the employment rate for Canadians aged 15 to 64 fell from record highs to record lows.

Evolution of Labour Force Participation Rate, Canada and United States
Chart 2.16

Government support has meant that the rebound in Canadian employment has exceeded that in the United States. Canada has recovered almost 80 per cent of the lost jobs compared to just over half in the US. Federal support for Canada’s labour market has helped Canadians get back to work quickly.

Change in Household Gross Saving Rate by Country Since 2019Q4
Chart 2.18

Overall, reflecting significant and targeted direct income support, Canada’s household savings rose most among major advanced economies over the first half of 2020. Unleashing these savings will be a key element of the government’s recovery plan.

Government supports have stabilized the economy

Since this crisis began, the government has invested $407 billion – nearly 19 per cent of Canada’s GDP – to support our public health care systems, provide direct income benefits to Canadians, and bridge businesses through the crisis and deep into 2021, creating certainty for people and businesses when it’s needed most.

Direct support measures are expected to result in economic activity being 4.6 per cent higher in 2020 and 4.4 per cent higher in 2021 compared to a scenario without support measures. This means about 1.2 million full-time equivalent jobs created or supported in 2020, and an unemployment rate 6 percentage points lower than without this support.

Government support has helped increase household disposable income and savings

Government transfers have meant that, combined with reduced spending opportunities, many people have actually increased their savings, a feature of this recession that is unlike others. These savings helped fuel a quick rebound in retail and consumer spending, and positions Canadian households to be a central force within our economic recovery.

Key Points

Transitioning Income Support from the CERB

Transitioning Income Support from the CERB
Chart #: Chart Title

The Canada Emergency Response Benefit provided emergency income support to millions of Canadians. Since the end of the program, more than 2 million claimants have applied to the simplified Employment Insurance system, but many Canadians were still not eligible.

The government launched three new income support benefits for these workers – those who continued to be unable to work for reasons related to COVID-19 such as providing care to a relative. These temporary recovery benefits are available to self-employed Canadians and gig workers, as well as workers who have not lost their job but have seen significant income loss due to COVID-19.

CERB Take-up
Chart #: Chart Title

Enhanced Employment Insurance

To ensure that Canadians have the support they need, the government announced temporary changes for one year that have made the Employment Insurance program more simple, flexible and generous, including the following:

  • Canadians with 120 hours of insurable work or more can now qualify for regular and special benefits, wherever they live in Canada.
  • Canadians receiving EI are now eligible for a benefit rate of at least $500 per week, or $300 per week for extended parental benefits.
  • Canadians claiming EI benefits for a job loss are now eligible for at least 26 weeks of benefits.

A Plan for the Coming Months

Across Canada, COVID-19 cases continue to rise. As the crisis has evolved, so too have the government’s support measures. Canadians and Canadian businesses can rest assured that for as long as the pandemic lasts, the federal government will provide the support they need.

The Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy

Given the ferocity of the second wave and its expected economic impact, the government is proposing to increase the maximum subsidy rate to 75 per cent for the period beginning December 20, 2020 and to extend this rate until March 13, 2021.

The government proposes to extend the Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy until June 2021 – to support workers to stay connected to their jobs and help businesses remain open or re-open.

The Canada Emergency Rent Subsidy

The new Canada Emergency Rent Subsidy provides direct and easy-to-access rent and mortgage support until June 2021 for qualifying organizations affected by COVID-19. The rent subsidy will be provided directly to eligible tenants and property owners, supporting businesses, charities, and non-profits that have suffered a revenue drop. The government is proposing to extend the current subsidy rates, meaning that a maximum subsidy rate of 65 per cent will be available on eligible expenses until March 13, 2021.

Lockdown Support

Organizations that are subject to a lockdown and must shut their doors or significantly restrict their activities under a public health order can qualify for an additional 25 per cent top-up, in addition to the Canada Emergency Rent Subsidy base subsidy of up to 65 per cent. This means hard-hit businesses can receive up to 90 per cent support for rent.

The government is proposing to extend the rate of 25 per cent for the Lockdown Support until March 13, 2021.

Supporting Canadians Who Are Now Working from Home

Support for Business

Key Business Supports Available to Small Businesses
Figure 2.3

The Canada Emergency Business Account

Small businesses are the heart of our communities and employ millions of Canadians. The government has provided partially forgivable loans to help them through the pandemic, initially providing interest-free loans of up to $40,000, with $10,000 forgivable. The Canada Emergency Business Account will soon be expanded, allowing qualifying businesses to access an additional interest-free loan of $20,000, based on need. Half of this additional amount, or $10,000, would be forgivable if repaid by December 31, 2022. The Fall Economic Statement announced the extension of the application deadline to March 31, 2021.

Indigenous Community Business Fund

The government launched the Indigenous Community Business Fund to provide $117 million in non-repayable financial contributions to help support operating costs for First Nation, Inuit and Métis community- or collectively-owned businesses. The government also announced $306.8 million to help small and medium-sized Indigenous businesses, and Aboriginal Financial Institutions that offer financing to these businesses.

Regional Relief and Recovery Fund

Businesses, workers, and communities in every corner of Canada have been impacted by COVID-19. To help support those businesses unable to access other federal pandemic support programs, the government created the Regional Relief and Recovery Fund, providing significant funding through Canada’s Regional Development Agencies. Through the program the government has made $1.5 billion in support available.

To date, this program has protected over 102,000 jobs and supported over 14,700 businesses, including over 8,500 clients in rural areas and 5,100 women-owned businesses.

Proposed Investments

Support for Highly Affected Sectors

Some businesses, particularly those in highly affected sectors, have struggled to access sufficient financing. To help address this challenge and bridge these businesses through the crisis, the government will work with financial institutions in the near term to create the Highly Affected Sectors Credit Availability Program (HASCAP) – a new program for the hardest hit businesses, including those in sectors like tourism and hospitality, hotels, arts and entertainment. This stream will offer 100 per cent government-guaranteed financing for heavily impacted businesses, and provide low-interest loans of up to $1 million over extended terms, up to ten years. Rates will be lower than those offered in the Business Credit Availability Program and beneath typical market rates for hard hit sectors.

Support for Workers in the Live Events and Arts Sectors

The COVID-19 pandemic has resulted in the near complete suspension of live events and arts presentations, affecting thousands of self-employed and freelance artists and event workers across the country. The pandemic has also resulted in the drastic reduction of advertising revenues for Canadian broadcasting companies.

The government understands that certain major live events and festivals will require unique support. The government will work with industry to prevent the closure of unique and irreplaceable flagship events and festivals across Canada, and to ensure the survival of key, globally recognized assets in this sector.

Proposed Investments

Support for the Air Travel Sector

The government is committed to ensuring that Canada’s air sector continues to connect Canadians and Canadian marketplaces, as part of a dynamic aerospace industry. Since the beginning of the pandemic, the government has announced $192 million to support essential air services to remote and northern communities. Overall, Canada’s air travel system directly employs over 100,000 Canadians. The government is establishing a process with major airlines regarding financial assistance. As part of this process, the government will ensure Canadians are refunded for cancelled flights.

Proposed Investments

To further support Canada’s air sector, the government proposes to:

More Information

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Un plan pour les prochains mois : Soutenir les Canadiens au cours de la pandémie

Aider les familles et les entreprises pendant la lutte contre la deuxième vague.

Soutenir les Canadiens durant la pandémie

L’Énoncé économique de l’automne de 2020 met en lumière des mesures ciblées et souples qui soutiennent directement les Canadiens pour qu’ils puissent payer leur loyer ou leur hypothèque et nourrir leur famille. Il prévoit aussi un soutien évolutif aux entreprises pour les aider à surmonter la crise, ainsi qu’un soutien pour garder les Canadiens en santé, en sécurité et solvables. Ensemble, ces mesures forment un filet de sécurité complémentaire complet, qui sera en place jusqu’à l’été de 2021 et qui permettra d’offrir aux Canadiens et aux entreprises du pays une certitude économique durant cette période difficile et turbulente.

Un choc économique sans précédent

La pandémie de COVID-19 a entraîné, partout dans le monde, la récession la plus profonde et la plus rapide depuis la Grande Dépression. Ici au pays, le choc pour l’économie canadienne découlant de la propagation de la COVID-19 a été soudain et profond à l’échelle historique. La chute du produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel au deuxième trimestre était de loin la plus importante jamais enregistrée, une bonne partie des dommages survenant au cours d’une période extrêmement brève, de la mi-mars à la fin avril. Au cours de cette période, plus de 3 millions de Canadiens ont perdu leur emploi, et le taux d’emploi des Canadiens âgés de 15 à 64 ans a chuté, passant de sommets records à des planchers records.

Évolution du taux de participation à la population active, Canada et États-Unis
Chart 2.16

Le soutien du gouvernement a fait en sorte que la relance de l’emploi canadien a dépassé celle des États-Unis. Le Canada a récupéré près de 80 % des emplois perdus, comparativement à un peu plus de la moitié aux États-Unis. Le soutien fédéral accordé au marché du travail a aidé les travailleurs canadiens à retourner à leur poste rapidement.

Évolution du taux d’épargne brut des ménages, par pays, depuis le 4e trimestre de 2019
Chart 2.18

En général, l’épargne des ménages du Canada est celle qui a affiché la plus forte augmentation parmi les principales économies avancées au cours de la première moitié de 2020, ce qui témoigne d’un soutien au revenu direct important et ciblé. La libération de ces économies sera un élément clé du plan de relance du gouvernement.

Le soutien du gouvernement a stabilisé l’économie

Depuis le début de la crise, le gouvernement a investi 407 milliards de dollars, soit près de 19 % du produit intérieur brut (PIB) du Canada, pour soutenir les systèmes de soins de santé publics, offrir des prestations de revenu directes aux Canadiens et aider les entreprises tout au cours de la crise et durant une bonne partie de 2021, créant ainsi une certitude pour les personnes et les entreprises lorsqu’elles en ont le plus besoin.

Les mesures de soutien direct devraient entraîner une augmentation de l’activité économique de 4,6 % en 2020 et de 4,4 % en 2021 comparativement à un scénario sans mesures de soutien. Cela signifie qu’environ 1,2 million d’emplois équivalents temps plein ont été créés ou soutenus en 2020, et que le taux de chômage a été de 6 points de pourcentage plus bas qu’il ne l’aurait été sans ce soutien.

Le soutien du gouvernement a aidé à accroître le revenu disponible et l’épargne des ménages

Les transferts gouvernementaux, combinés avec les possibilités moindres de dépenses, ont fait en sorte que de nombreuses personnes ont augmenté leurs épargnes, une caractéristique de cette récession qui est fort différente des autres récessions. Ces économies ont favorisé une reprise rapide des dépenses de détail et de consommation et mettent les ménages canadiens en bonne position pour constituer l’un des principaux moteurs de la relance économique.

Points clés

Faire passer le soutien du revenu depuis la PCU vers d’autres mesures de soutien

Faire passer le soutien du revenu depuis la PCU vers d’autres mécanismes de soutien
Figure 2.2

La Prestation canadienne d’urgence a procuré un soutien du revenu d’urgence à des millions de Canadiens. Depuis la fin du programme, plus de 2 millions de demandeurs ont présenté leur demande au moyen du système d’assurance-emploi simplifié, mais un grand nombre de Canadiens n’étaient toujours pas admissibles à l’assurance-emploi.

Le gouvernement a lancé trois nouvelles prestations de soutien du revenu pour ces travailleurs qui continuent de ne pas pouvoir travailler pour des raisons liées à la COVID-19, par exemple pour apporter des soins à un membre de la famille. Ces prestations temporaires de relance économique sont accessibles aux travailleurs autonomes, aux travailleurs à la demande et aux travailleurs qui n’ont pas perdu leur emploi, mais qui ont enregistré une perte de revenu considérable en raison de la COVID-19.

Participation à la PCU
Figure 2.6

Un régime d’assurance-emploi amélioré

Afin de faire en sorte que les Canadiens aient le soutien dont ils ont besoin, le gouvernement a annoncé des changements temporaires, d’une durée d’un an, qui rendent le programme d’assurance‑emploi plus simple, plus souple et plus généreux. Ces changements sont les suivants :

  • Les Canadiens qui ont accumulé au moins 120 heures de travail assurable peuvent maintenant avoir droit aux prestations régulières et spéciales, peu importe où ils habitent au Canada.
  • Les Canadiens recevant l’assurance-emploi sont maintenant admissibles à un taux de prestation d’au moins 500 $ par semaine, ou de 300 $ par semaine pour les prestations parentales prolongées.
  • Les Canadiens qui demandent les prestations d’assurance-emploi en raison d’une perte d’emploi ont maintenant droit à au moins 26 semaines de prestations.

Un plan pour les prochains mois

Partout au Canada, les cas de COVID-19 continuent d’augmenter. À mesure que la crise évolue, les mesures de soutien du gouvernement changent elles aussi. Les Canadiens et les entreprises canadiennes peuvent avoir la certitude que tant que la pandémie sévira, le gouvernement fédéral fournira le soutien dont ils ont besoin.

Subvention salariale d’urgence du Canada

Compte tenu de la férocité de la deuxième vague et de ses répercussions économiques prévues, le gouvernement propose d’accroître le taux maximal de subvention, le faisant passer à 75 % pour la période qui commence le 20 décembre 2020, et de prolonger l’application de ce taux jusqu’au 13 mars 2021.

Le gouvernement propose de prolonger la Subvention salariale d’urgence du Canada jusqu’en juin 2021 afin d’aider les travailleurs à garder un lien avec leur emploi et d’aider les entreprises à demeurer ouvertes ou à rouvrir leurs portes.

Subvention d’urgence du Canada pour le loyer

La nouvelle Subvention d’urgence du Canada pour le loyer (SUCL) offre jusqu’en juin 2021 un soutien direct au loyer et à l’hypothèque qui est simple et d’accès facile pour les organismes admissibles touchés par la COVID-19. La subvention au loyer sera versée directement aux locataires et propriétaires admissibles, appuyant des entreprises, des organismes de bienfaisance et des organismes à but non lucratif qui ont subi une baisse soudaine des revenus. Le gouvernement propose de prolonger les taux de subvention actuels, ce qui signifie qu’un taux de subvention maximum de 65 % sera offert pour les dépenses admissibles jusqu’au 13 mars 2021.

Mesure de soutien en cas de confinement

Les organismes qui sont assujettis à un confinement et qui doivent fermer leurs portes ou restreindre fortement leurs activités en raison d’une ordonnance de santé publique peuvent être admissibles à un complément de 25 %, qui s’ajoute à la subvention de base pouvant atteindre 65 % de la Subvention d’urgence du Canada pour le loyer. Cela signifie que les entreprises durement touchées peuvent recevoir un soutien pour le loyer allant jusqu’à 90 %.

Le gouvernement propose de prolonger le taux de 25 % pour la mesure de soutien en cas de confinement jusqu’au 13 mars 2021.

Soutenir les Canadiens qui travaillent maintenant à domicile

Soutien aux entreprises

Principales mesures de soutien offertes aux petites entreprises
Figure 2.3

Compte d’urgence pour les entreprises canadiennes

Les petites entreprises sont le pilier de nos communautés et emploient des millions de Canadiens. Le gouvernement leur accorde des prêts assortis d’une radiation partielle pour les aider à traverser la pandémie, offrant au départ des prêts sans intérêt de 40 000 $ au maximum, dont 10 000 $ pouvaient être radiés. Le Compte d’urgence pour les entreprises canadiennes sera bientôt élargi, permettant aux entreprises admissibles d’obtenir un prêt supplémentaire de 20 000 $ sans intérêt dans les situations où le besoin s’en fait sentir. La moitié de ce montant supplémentaire, soit 10 000 $, serait radié s’il est remboursé avant le 31 décembre 2022. L’Énoncé économique de l’automne a annoncé le report de la date limite de présentation des demandes jusqu’au 31 mars 2021.

Fonds d’appui aux entreprises communautaires autochtones

Le gouvernement a lancé le Fonds d’appui aux entreprises communautaires autochtones, qui fournira 117 millions de dollars en contributions financières non remboursables pour aider à soutenir les coûts d’exploitation des entreprises de propriété communautaire ou collective des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis. Le gouvernement a aussi annoncé un financement de 306,8 millions de dollars pour aider les petites et moyennes entreprises autochtones et les institutions financières autochtones qui offrent du financement à ces entreprises.

Fonds d’aide et de relance régionale

La COVID-19 a touché les entreprises, les travailleurs et les communautés partout au Canada. Pour aider à soutenir les entreprises qui ne sont pas en mesure d’accéder à d’autres programmes fédéraux de soutien liés à la pandémie, le gouvernement a créé le Fonds d’aide et de relance régionale, qui offre un financement important par l’intermédiaire des agences de développement régional du Canada. Grâce à ce programme, le gouvernement a mis des fonds de soutien s’élevant à 1,5 milliard de dollars à la disposition de ces entreprises.

À ce jour, ce programme a protégé plus de 102 000 emplois et appuyé plus de 14 700 entreprises, y compris plus de 8 500 clients dans des régions rurales et 5 100 entreprises détenues par des femmes.

Investissements proposés

Soutien pour les secteurs durement touchés

Certaines entreprises, surtout celles qui évoluent dans les secteurs durement touchés, ont de la difficulté à obtenir un financement suffisant. Afin de relever ce défi et de permettre à ces entreprises de surmonter la crise, le gouvernement collaborera avec les institutions financières à court terme en vue de créer le Programme de crédit pour les secteurs durement touchés, un nouveau programme destiné aux entreprises les plus durement touchées, y compris celles œuvrant dans des secteurs comme le tourisme et l’accueil, l’hébergement, les arts et le divertissement. Ce volet offrira un financement garanti à 100 % par l’État aux entreprises durement touchées, ainsi que des prêts à faible taux d’intérêt allant jusqu’à 1 million de dollars assortis de périodes prolongées de remboursement pouvant atteindre 10 ans. Les taux seront plus faibles que ceux offerts dans le cadre du Programme de crédit aux entreprises et inférieurs aux taux typiques du marché pour les secteurs durement touchés.

Soutien aux travailleurs des secteurs des événements en direct et des arts

La pandémie de COVID-19 a entraîné la suspension quasi complète des événements en direct et des spectacles, touchant des milliers d’artistes et de travailleurs indépendants et à la pige du secteur des événements partout au pays. La pandémie a également entraîné une réduction dramatique des revenus de publicité pour les entreprises de diffusion canadiennes.

Le gouvernement comprend que certains festivals et événements en direct importants auront besoin d’un soutien particulier. Le gouvernement collaborera avec l’industrie pour prévenir la fermeture d’événements et de festivals phares uniques et irremplaçables d’un bout à l’autre du Canada et assurera ainsi la survie d’atouts clés reconnus mondialement dans ce secteur.

Investissements proposés

Soutien au secteur du transport aérien

Le gouvernement est résolu à faire en sorte que le secteur aérien du Canada continue de relier les Canadiens et les marchés canadiens, en tant que composante d’une industrie aérospatiale nationale dynamique. Depuis le début de la pandémie, le gouvernement a annoncé le versement de 192 millions de dollars pour appuyer les services aériens essentiels vers les collectivités éloignées et du Nord. Dans l’ensemble, le système de transport aérien national emploie directement plus de 100 000 Canadiens. Le gouvernement est en train d’établir un processus d’aide financière avec les principales compagnies aériennes. Dans le cadre de ce processus, le gouvernement veillera à ce que les Canadiens soient remboursés pour les vols annulés.

Nouveau soutien au secteur aérien

Afin de soutenir davantage le secteur aérien du Canada, le gouvernement propose les mesures suivantes :

Renseignements supplémentaires

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification :